T.E.N. Announces 2012 Information Security Executive® (ISE®) North America Awards Nominees

Executive and Project Category Awards Announced at ISE® North America Executive Forum and Awards Gala on Nov. 6-7, 2012

Atlanta, GA (Sept.13, 2012) –T.E.N., a technology and information security executive networking and relationship-marketing firm announced that nominations have closed for the ISE® North America Leadership Summit and Awards 2012. Nominees, finalists and winners from all regions of North America including the U.S. and Canada will be recognized at the two-day event to be held on Nov. 6-7, 2012 at the Westin Alexandria, Alexandria, Va.

Executives nominated for the ISE® North America Award in the Executive category are defined as information security leaders who improve their organization’s risk management, data asset protection, privacy and network security efforts while proactively implementing security technology and processes. Judges evaluated these leading nominees based on the following criteria: responsibilities, aligning security with the business, leadership, future vision, applying innovation, and building technology partnerships. Nominees include:

  • Zulfi Ahmed, Global CISO, PepsiCo
  • David Billeter, Vice President Information Security, InterContinental Hotel Group
  • Mario Chiock, Global Chief Cyber Security Authority, Schlumberger
  • Roland Cloutier, Vice President, CSO, ADP
  • Curtis Coleman, Information Security Officer, Seagate Technology
  • Bobby Dominguez, Director, Security & IT Governance, Risk, Compliance, PSCU Financial Services
  • David Gillman, Sr. Manager of IT Security Operations and Engineering, AAA Insurance Exchange
  • Mike Higgins, Chief Security Officer, New York Times Company
  • Scott Howitt, Director of IT Risk and Capacity Management, J.C. Penney
  • Martin Gomberg, Chief Information Officer and Senior Vice President, A+E Networks
  • Vickie Miller, Director of Information Security, FICO
  • Tammy Moskites, VP and Chief Information Security Officer, Time Warner Cable
  • Lamont Orange, VP of Enterprise Security, Charter Communications
  • Myrna Soto, Senior Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer, Comcast


  • Rafael Diaz, Chief Information Security Officer, Central Management Services,
    State of Illinois
  • Charles McGann, Corporate Information Security Officer, United States Postal Service

Health Care:

  • Scott Breece, Director, Security Strategy and Compliance, Community Health Systems
  • Cris Ewell, Chief Information Security Officer, Seattle Children's
  • Scott Pettigrew, Chief Security Officer, HMS
  • John B. Sapp Jr., Senior Director, Information Security Product Management & Innovation, McKesson Corporation


  • Brian Kelly, Director of Information Security and Network Operations, Quinnipiac University
  • Becky Swain, Founding Member, Cloud Security Alliance (CSA)

The ISE® North America Award in the Project category garnered an outstanding range of information security projects that were deployed and completed in the last 12-18 months and have had the greatest positive impact within their organization. Judges evaluate projects based on scope, defined goals, ability to execute and overall results achieved for the organization. Nominees and their project titles include:

  • ADP: Client Security Management Office Portal (CSMO), Trusted Platform Security Initiative (TPSI)
  • Applied Materials: Enterprise Information Safety
  • Barclays: SEA - Strategic External Authentication
  • Broadcom: Enterprise Data Loss Prevention
  • Comcast: The Security IPv6 Readiness Project
  • IHG: Hotel Security Program
  • ING: Security Guy Roadshow, Security Operations Center
  • ITG: Business-Critical Application Control Monitoring
  • Seagate: Factory Application Control/Whitelisting Project
  • Synopsis: Corporate Security Initiative (CSI)
  • Tucson Electric Power: Server and Network Access Management Project


  • Booz Allen Hamilton: DoD Cyberscope Enterprise Reporting Service
  • City of Airdrie: Security in the City
  • State of Illinois : Data Classification and Protection
  • IRS: Operational Security Program Management Office
  • Montgomery County Maryland Government: Enterprise Cloud Security Security Service and Architecture
  • USPS: USPS Security Process Enhancement

Health Care:

  • Children's Hospital of Philadelphia: eDiscovery
  • HMS: HMS Helps US Healthcare System Operate More Efficiently with Automated Identity & Access Management and Governance
  • SAFE-BioPharma: Research Collaboration in the Cloud: How NCI and Partners use Interoperable Digital Identities and Signatures to Accelerate Drug Development


  • Quinnipiac University: CAUSE

“This year we celebrate the TENth anniversary of the ISE® Programs performing an integral role in recognizing the importance of IT security professionals. They are a testimony to an industry that has grown exponentially through the outstanding practices of the people working in it,” said Marci McCarthy, CEO and President of T.E.N. Eligible nominees are selected from the U.S. and Canada.

Nominations are sent to T.E.N.’s distinguished panel of ISE® judges for review and scoring. Judges have the final approval in determining whether an executive or project team is qualified to participate as a nominee at either the regional or national level. Finalists and winners are not announced publicly until the evening of the awards.

The ISE® North America Distinguished Panel of Judges for this year’s awards include:

  • Phil Agcaoili, CISO, Cox Communications
  • Jerry Archer, Senior V.P., CSO,of Major Financial Organization and Founding Board Member of the Cloud Security Alliance
  • Suzanne Hall, Vice President, Information Technology, American Red Cross
  • Stacey Halota, Vice President, Information Security and Privacy, The Washington Post Company
  • Brad Sanford, CISO, Emory University
  • John R. South, CSO, Heartland Payment Systems
  • Glen Taylor, Vice President, The Walt Disney Company

About T.E.N.
T.E.N., a national technology and security executive networking organization, facilitates peer-to-peer relationships between top executives, industry visionaries and solutions providers. Nominated for numerous industry awards, T.E.N.’s executive leadership programs enable information exchange, collaboration and decision-making. Their flagship program, the nationally acclaimed Information Security Executive® (ISE®) of the Year Program Series and Awards, is the nation’s largest leadership recognition and networking program for security professionals. Other offerings include the Software Security Assurance Summit Series and the ISE® Industry Expert Advisory Services, empowering IT solutions providers to gain access to highly credentialed IT business veterans’ expertise. For information, visit www.ten-inc.com and www.iseprograms.com