Due to the recent CrowdStrike/Microsoft outage, T.E.N.'s email services are temporarily down. Check back for updates.

Information Security Executives Honored in the Big Apple for Leadership and Teamwork

ATLANTA, GA - October 20, 2008 - Today the winners for the Information Security Executive (ISE®) and Project of the year Northeast Awards for 2008 was announced.

The Marriott Marquis Times Square in New York City, NY was the place to be on the evening of Thursday, October 16, 2008, where industry leaders and project teams in the Northeast region were honored for their achievements in information security.

The ISE® Executive and Project of the Year awards were given to deserving nominees for positive contributions to their organizations and outstanding accomplishments to the industry through risk management, data asset protection, regulatory compliance, privacy, and information security.

Anish Bhimani, Managing Director, Risk & Security Management, JPMorgan Chase & Co. took home the ISE® Executive of the Year Award. Mr. Bhimani was recognized for exemplary leadership within his organization and his widespread enhanced vulnerability management capability. His large-scale dimension of IT risk role and outstanding accomplishments within the security industry was commended.

In addition to the winner, four other finalists for the Executive of the Year Award were recognized during the event. Steve Attias, CISSP, CISM, First Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer, New York Life Insurance Company; Paul de Graaff, Global Information Security Officer and Senior Vice President, Global Operations and Systems, AIG - American International Group, Inc.; Sunil Seshadri, Senior Vice President and Global Head of Information Security, NYSE Euronext; and Deborah Snyder, Information Security Officer, NYS Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance (OTDA).

New this year, the ISE® Northeast Project of the Year Award recognized teams and their information security projects completed in the past 12 to 18 months.

The project of the year award went to JPMorgan Chase & Co. for their Vulnerability Management Initiative. Executive sponsor Anish Bhimani and his team Sridhar Eloore, Michael Enriquez, Victoria Meyer, Michael Ressler, Marc Scott, and Chunqi Zhao, created a solution to effectively monitor and manage the immense corporate landscape of their firm and redesign its global vulnerability management reporting application.

Michel Emelianoff, Vice President, Security Solutions, Enterprise Solutions Division and his team Peter Downey, Ansari Furquan, Jessica Haney, Dor Skuler, and Dimitri Stiliadis at Alcatel-Lucent, were given honorable mention for their innovative approach to creating a world-class laptop security solution that offers enterprises unprecedented visibility, control and security for remote laptops regardless of power status.

Deborah Snyder, Information Security Officer, NYS Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance (OTDA), was named the ISE® Northeast People's Choice Award Winner for 2008. She received the honorary mark of respect from the community of peers attending the event who voted her as the executive with the most exemplary attributes of a leader in the security industry.

In addition to the awards, the nominees and project teams participated in the ISE® Northeast Executive Forum comprised of cutting-edge speakers and interactive discussions focused on business issues, best practices, and solutions.

"Now more than ever we need to acknowledge the work being done by these exceptional leaders in our industry," said Marci McCarthy, CEO of T.E.N. "The winners of this year's Project of the Year, People's Choice, and Executive of the Year Awards have demonstrated new and innovative solutions as well as the highest level of industry standards."

"ISE® recognizes the security leaders who embody the high standard to which all security practitioners should strive to achieve," said Brian Cleary, VP of marketing for Aveksa. "Aveksa was proud to sponsor the ISE® Northeast 2008 Awards and we were honored to recognize its noteworthy group of nominees at this year's Executive Forum and Awards Gala."