Due to the recent CrowdStrike/Microsoft outage, T.E.N.'s email services are temporarily down. Check back for updates.

Information Security Executives Awarded for Demonstrating Change, Innovation, and Leadership in IT Industry

ATLANTA - September 22, 2008 - Today the winners of the Information Security Executive (ISE®) West Awards 2008 was announced.

The Palace Hotel in San Francisco, CA was the place to be on the evening of Thursday, September 18, 2008, where industry leaders and project teams in the West region were honored for their achievements in information security and the change they are bringing to their organizations and the industry.

The Information Security Executive and Project of the Year awards are given to deserving candidates for positive contributions to their organizations and outstanding accomplishments to the industry through risk management, data asset protection, regulatory compliance, privacy, and information security.

David Matthews, Deputy Chief Information Security Officer, City of Seattle, took home the ISE® Executive of the Year Award. He was recognized for his exemplary leadership within his organization and his groundbreaking and unique work which has been nationally and internationally recognized.

In addition to the winner, four other finalists for the Executive of the Year Award were recognized during the event. Geoff Aranoff, Chief Information Security Officer, Broadcom; Joshua Davis, Director of Information Security & Compliance, Qualcomm; Al Kirkpatrick, Chief Information Security Officer, First American; and Melody Periera, Vice President, Information Security, First Republic Bank.

New this year, the ISE® West Project of the Year Award recognized outstanding teams and their information security projects completed in the past 12 to 18 months.

The project of the year award went to Intermountain Healthcare for their Modular Identity & Access Management Solution Project, executive sponsor Karl West, Chief Information Security Officer and his team: Carl Allen, Gabriel Dayley, Traci Hastings Jason King, and Nathan Moon.

The team from First Advantage Corporation was given honorable mention for their comprehensive and creative approach to educate employees, improve awareness and guide behavioral change in a fresh, engaging manner.

Joshua Davis, Director of Information Security & Compliance, Qualcomm, was named the ISE® West People's Choice Award Winner for 2008. He received the honorary mark of respect from the community of peers attending the event who voted Joshua as the executive with the most exemplary attributes of a leader in the security industry.

"The stature of the ISE® Awards in the IT industry is growing," said Marci McCarthy, CEO of T.E.N. "The winners of this year's Project of the Year, People's Choice, and Executive of the Year Awards have demonstrated new and innovative solutions as well as the highest level of industry standards."